Welcome to the Department of Political Science at Carleton University. We are one of the largest Political Science departments in Canada, with thirty-five full-time faculty teaching across a wide range of subjects. We are one of the founding departments at Carleton, with a history stretching back to 1942. We are also part of the Faculty of Public Affairs, which brings together twelve departments and schools focused on preparing students to apply scholarly knowledge to the practical world.

Courses and teaching in the Department are organized around a number of sub-fields, including international relations (including international political economy), comparative politics, political theory, Canadian politics, public policy, and gender and diversity. At the undergraduate level, we provide the opportunity to focus your studies in one of more of these areas. At the PhD level students must choose two of these fields in which to complete core courses and write comprehensive exams. At the MA level students do not have to choose a field(s) but are invited to choose one of three streams: all-coursework; coursework combined with a research paper; and, coursework combined with a thesis.